Wide angle on an M8

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been using Nikon glass on my M8 to go wide. I had a 20mm f2.8 Nikon and a 17mm f3.5 Tokina, the 20 works well but the 17 is too big (72mm filter) and heavy. What are other people using. I have thought about the Zeiss 18mm ZM which is the focal length that I would think ideal, but I didn't buy one when I could, a rare lens and the prices have shot up. The Voigtlander 15mm is an option but it is getting a little wider than what I want. Ideas?

Edited by tommonego@gmail.com

SEM 18/3.8 + VF 12022, both made for the M8. I have no experience with them though. I had the Elmarit 28/2.8 asph but the WA lens i preferred on my M8.2 was the tiny CV 21/4. Another solution would be the WATE 16-18-21/4 but i've never used mine on the M8.2.

• Like 1

vor 1 Stunde schrieb lct:

SEM 18/3.8 + VF 12022, both made for the M8. I have no experience with them though. I had the Elmarit 28/2.8 asph but the WA lens i preferred on my M8.2 was the tiny CV 21/4. Another solution would be the WATE 16-18-21/4 but i've never used mine on the M8.2.

I bought my M8.2 together with a WATE 4.0-16-18-21mm, but was never satisfied because of the crop factor of 1.33.
In my opinion the WATE is bulky and overengineered, especially when you need the UV/IR filter for the M8.
Now I'm happy with a much smaller Super-Elmarit 3.4-21mm on my M10-P.
For a wider angle, I successfully tried a Voigtlander 15mm/1:4.5 Super Wide Heliar asph. IIIVM.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

53 minutes ago, mnutzer said:

I bought my M8.2 together with a WATE 4.0-16-18-21mm, but was never satisfied because of the crop factor of 1.33.
In my opinion the WATE is bulky and overengineered, especially when you need the UV/IR filter for the M8.