How many L mount lens do you use/have?

DanielJr

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have Pana L mount lens and was wondering maybe just keep 1 or 2 lens. I went to LeicaDC and tested some of their lens a couple of weeks ago. I was thinking maybe just invest all my money in the 75mm. I have been using one lens 75mm for the last 4 years and might just get this lens and call it a day.

Everyone is different have have different needs. If 75mm is your jam and you like a modern look, then the 75 APO SL should be high on your list. If you do not feel limited by a single focal length, that’s great since it simplifies your life and you spend less money.

I’ve been an M shooter for a long time and only got into the SL system via the SL2-S last year but have since built up a decent collection of L-mount glass. Sigma 14-24/2.8 and 24/3.5, Leica 16-35, 24-90, 28 APO, 90-280.

I shoot mostly with the 16-35 but each lens was purchase for specific reasons and use cases.

I bought the Leica 24-70 f2.8 V-E bundled with the SL2-S and use my old 75mm M-Summarit f2.4 with the M-L adapter. Although the 24-70 is a lovely lens, particularly for events, it is heavy (and mine has sucked in some front element dust). For personal use, I much prefer primes and have found the Sigma DG DN Contemporary range to be fantastic - they completely transform the user experience for me; they are relatively small, tactile, very enjoyable to use (manually and in auto) and, in my view, are optically excellent.  I have the 24mm f3.5, 35mm f2, 45mm f2.8. I read in (I think) either the LFI or LHSA magazine that these lenses are required to meet certain Leica regulations or standards, as part of the L Mount Alliance, which is reassuring. They simply belong on SL bodies. I will be getting more. Whatever you choose, enjoy your photography! 

• Like 1

The Sigma DG DNs are indeed fabulous and I have kept the 35/2, 45/2.8 and 90/2.8