New to Leica. Just purchased M3

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Like the title says, I'm new to Leica and just purchased an early M3 (serial starts in 730) double stroke from KEH in "excellent" condition. Im not new to film cameras by any means so I was hoping someone on here might be able to confirm my suspicions that they found a new body and just put the old internals inside it. Does anyone have full trust in KEH that they wouldn't do something like that?

Exterior - In excellent shape, nearly brand new looking for its age. Strangely the rewind engraving arrow with an R is not all there, not even a hint of it ever existing. Did Leica never engrave some models with it?

Interior (take up spool/Curtain) - moderately clean but looks more used for its age. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Thanks 1

Finding a new body is highly unlikely and if one would be lucky to find a new oldstock example it would be crazily expensive. More likely it is a restoration. KEH is a most reliable dealer. It 

• Like 1

42 minutes ago, jaapv said:

Finding a new body is highly unlikely and if one would be lucky to find a new oldstock example it would be crazily expensive. More likely it is a restoration. KEH is a most reliable dealer. It 

Got it. So the rewind engravings somehow were removed during restoration?

Some interesting M3 details here https://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/companies/Leica/Leica-M3/1954-60/index.htm

and here, where double serial number is noted - worth checking  https://www.setadelstudios.com/blogs/news/104496518-the-best-of-the-best-leica-cameras-ever-made-leica-m3-854000-858000-1957

I'm sure the experts will me along soon.  

Meanwhile, your new M3 looks stunning. Enjoy!

• Like 1