M9M purchase in 2022

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Greetings everyone,

I have been using the M9 since 2016.  Earlier this year I traded it for an M9P and thought that will be good enough for my amateurish skill level and enjoyment.  Until I started reading this forum to find out the black and white mindset change with the M9M which is exhilarating!  I could not shake off this thought and now here I am, an owner of a used M9M (new sensor) in 2022.

Thank you Leica Forum!

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

@DennisPT excited for you!  Especially as I see what looks like a 35mm f/2.8 on the camera with a heliopan (yellow?) filter.  Just know, different from the M9, it is more important to underexpose to save the highlights.  The color array typically has at least one color in a blown out highlight, saving some detail.  In the monochrom’ s if its blow, its gone!  

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, DennisPT said:

I am studying the zone system and hope it helps to deepen my love to this special camera.

Dennis,

Don't bother with zone system, it was for film use and large format one "frame" view camera.

I suggest using the more productive very nice RAW based histogram of your Monochrom.

I regret that RAW based histogram did not come with M246, as I was used to "learn" the sensor rendering, when lighting is not optimum.

One ofthe reasons I do keep the two Monochroms.

1 hour ago, davidmknoble said:

@DennisPT excited for you!  Especially as I see what looks like a 35mm f/2.8 on the camera with a heliopan (yellow?) filter.  Just know, different from the M9, it is more important to underexpose to save the highlights.  The color array typically has at least one color in a blown out highlight, saving some detail.  In the monochrom’ s if its blow, its gone!  

I know well this lens, so called 8 element Summicron 35mm with UV "0"filter.

My suggestion using the RAW histogram saved me when lighting is tricky.