Advanced film or not

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Totally noob question, but I'm new to MP (and to the film pretty much). Is there a way to know if the film is already advanced, before pressing the shutter? Usually I advance it immediately after taking a shot, but sometimes I forget, and then when I pickup a camera again, I'm not sure if it's advanced or not. If I press the shutter to check, I'll lose a shot, but if I need to take a shot quickly and then I realize it's not advanced, I'll lose a moment. 

@Helge I warned you it's a noob question. Got my first 35mm film camera few weeks ago and I only shot couple rolls.

@Mute-on I didn't realize it doesn't go all the way, because comparing to my Rolleiflex (which I used to shot a bit in past), as far as I can remember, it doesn't move at all if advanced, or very little, so comparing to that, MP feels like half-advanced.

Anyway, thanks for the help, I know now :)

Edited by hirohhhh
  • Like 3

If you half press the shutter and the light meter comes on (Shutter dial not at off) then the film is advanced, if the light meter doesn't come on the film is not advanced. Providing the batteries are good that is.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

So many ways 😉.

If the battery is not installed ( to mimic M-A as so many girls/guys want to say ! )...

Another trick is unmount the lens, if you see the white dot on the shutter blind, "advanced shutter".

If the blind is all black, shutter not advanced yet.

As user, if you forgot, just advance, that's all.

I always advance the film to be prepared for the next.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

If I am trying to see if the lever is advanced or not I usually just start to advance the lever gently and if it feels like it has some gigs in it / is able to continue to advance then I know it’s not advanced. If it reaches a hard stop quickly then it is advanced.