Not a very positive take on M11 by Overgaard - says it will not be a classic

leicavkk

I watched this and can understand his view as he explained it very clearly.  I think he offers good advice for those owners of the camera who use it, or want to use it, for the same purposes he uses it for. 

He did say there is another video to come, the current video is about the operation of the camera. I think the next one is on the images he can create with it. 

What Thorten suggests is pretty well what i've been doing with my EVILs since 2015 or so i.e. keeping e-shutter mode on except under artificial light or on moving subjects. I have no experience with the M11 but i have set an user profile for that on my digital CL and it works fine this way. I would have more concerns about the slowness of the M11 in LV mode and blackouts in the Visoflex then. Just a feeling for now but i hope 36 or 18MP resolution can solve the issue.

I map a fn button for shutter type and default using E shutter for anything not moving (unless the moving subject is take significant small portion of frame).

During artificial light, If I want to use E shutter, I keep shutter at 1/10s so that no banding can be seen.

For m11, I can handhold pretty well with 1/10s at 18M.  I use SLx e shutter default and enjoy it. M11's e shutter is one of most useful features to me.  

• Thanks 1

He makes a good point, I think; though my conclusion is the opposite - I would prefer just to use the mechanical shutter, without the permanent live view.  I don’t really understand why Leica has done this (unless it was to remove the meter off the shutter).