M11 + 35mm Summicron ASPH

Tortuga

9 minutes ago, Tortuga said:

Almost everyone with an M11 seems to have an APO-Summicron 35mm. Anyone out there with a regular 35mm Summicron ASPH can share their experience?

Not everyone, but for those that love the 10-R and do, if they'd like to trade lemme know 😃

Sadly, I can't help you out, I have the pre-ASPH 'lux and the Zeiss ZM, but no 'cron of any sort. I'm sure others will come along that do eventually. 

I am brand new to the M system, having acquired my M11 and a 35 Summicron ASPH on the M11 launch day.  I was going to pull the trigger on an M10-R late last year, when I came across all of the rumors for the upcoming M11.

While I waited, I spent a lot of time studying photos produced by the various 35mm and 50mm Leica lenses.  I am not a professional photographer and a lot of my photography is travel.  What is not travel is basically capturing life moments with friends and family.  A small kit is everything to me, because I want my camera around me all of the time.

All of that to say, I settled on the 35 Summicron ASPH as my first lens, in terms of the right character, size, weight, and price.

Initially, I shot in the default 60 megapixel mode, but I found I prefer the 36 megapixel mode.  I do not need the additional resolution, the files are a bit smaller, and I like the additional dynamic range.  Perhaps too, if I am being honest, the medium mode is a little more forgiving of camera shake.

Although I did not have an issue with the 60 megapixel photos with the 35 Summicron ASPH, overall I am finding the 36 megapixel mode the best fit for me.  (all things considered)

I am extremely pleased with the combination so far, even though I am obviously still learning the M system.

• Like 3