Adobe Photography Plan & Workflow Questions

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Apologies in advance for these 'newbie' questions.

I've been using Photoshop Express for several years and am pretty comfortable using it, although I've never come up with an efficient/satisfactory workflow.  I'm retiring from work later this year and anticipate significantly more travel - pandemic allowing - and decided to buy the Adobe Photography subscription service.  Note that I'm not a big supporter of cloud services, preferring to keep my applications and data/photos on my PC. My uncertainty primarily revolves around using LightRoom CC vs. LightRoom Classic when it comes to travel.

1.  Am I better off 'importing' new photos to the cloud when traveling, or just back them up each day to a portable drive, as I've done in the past?

2.  I have a large repository of digital photographs taken over the past decade or so;  does it make sense to import all those photos into Lightroom CC ( I currently have the 1TB plan) and just move to the cloud for everything?  Or given my preference to 'keep things local' only use the cloud service while traveling and keep managing the files locally when home?

I'm starting to locate and watch various tutorials, but thusfar haven't found anything that addresses the pros and cons for fundamental approaches to managing files and workflow.

All opinions and suggestions appreciated!

-rich-