How do you custom your M camera/lenses?

Dennis

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I do custom mine. 

Some lenses are used only at certain f/stop. Some settings are covered for best practice. Fewer distractions, fewer options to choose from. I'm faster, more efficient, and I enjoy more the process of shooting. Aesthetically some items are ugly, some much better. But I don't care. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

How much do you custom your cameras/lenses? How unique and/or personalized is your M gear? Please share some delightful possibilities.

Photos by Q2M

• Like 2

I haven't done anything to any of my M kit since I was a student. Back then (mid-1980's) there was a very different vibe in the air here in the UK and people were more uncomfortable and suspicious about anyone snapping on the streets so I resorted to the tried'n'tested route of covering my M2 in black tape.

I left it like that for the next 20 years which might not have been so bad had I not used electricians insulating tape which left such a mess when I finally took it off...

Cue gratuitous snap from circa '86;

Philip.

EDIT : The shape of the hood (which got a LOT worse than that!) illustrates why I always use have a hood on my lenses.......:lol:.......

Edited by pippy
  • Like 5
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, Dennis said:

I knew about your preference for the 'simplification' of apertures etc., Dennis, but do you not - or only rarely - use any shutter-speeds between 1/60th and 1/500th?

Philip.

40 minutes ago, pippy said:

I haven't done anything to any of my M kit since I was a student. Back then (mid-1980's) there was a very different vibe in the air here in the UK and people were more uncomfortable and suspicious about anyone snapping on the streets so I resorted to the tried'n'tested route of covering my M2 in black tape.