I finally 'get' the enthusiasm for the 40mm focal length

colint544

Advertisement (gone after registration)

These past 18 months, I've been shooting a project in my city, using a Plaubel Makina 67. I had heard that to use this camera is to make friends with your local repair shop. It's absolutely true. My copy gave me the gift of 15 blank rolls of film. It would click and wind, but the shutter wasn't properly re-cocking. Lost some unrepeatable shots, but I've grown to love this camera so much, that I forgave it. I now get my films developed one at a time, just to be sure.

I realised that one of the things I love about the Plaubel is that the lens is the equivalent (in 35mm film terms) of a 40mm. There is something just 'right' about that perspective. I've been shooting 35mm film cameras for 40 years, and I have only now realised this. You never stop learning when it comes to photography. 

I finally understand the people on the forum, who covet the 40mm Summicron that once came with a Leica CL. I never got that before. I guess Leica won't return to that focal length because it messes with the framelines. But I'm beginning to think it's a shame that they aren't making a contemporary 40mm lens.

• Like 9

I have a Voigtlander 40mm Nokton which has yielded some very nice results with my MP. It is a lovely, lightweight lens but it is a bit of a pain to frame, if I need to be careful will work the frame selection lever with my left hand while focusing. For most situations I just use the 50mm lines and "guesstimate" the added coverage. The image below I used the frame lever to make sure the bow was included in the image.

I bought it for travel so instead of my normal 35, 50 and 90 mm thought I'd try just 40 and 75 lenses.  So far, so good but of course with COVID travel has been limited to local day-trips.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!