Recommendation for Flash Trigger for Compatibility

tedwill

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Little by little, I am doing more and more indoor shots - products and people.  In the past, I used Canon gear and Canon flashes - both on camera and remote.  I now have an SL2 and love the image quality.

Recently I started shooting products using small light cube and lcd lights for fill light.  But more recently, I've been asked to shoot larger products as well as corporate headshots.

I would like to start small with a studio flash and flash trigger.  I've only started researching this and I have not seen any triggers that specifically work with the Leica SL2.  I've looked at the SF C1, but I'm unsure if it works with other lights like Profoto.

What products have you worked with that support the SL2 using a flash trigger and studio lighting?  I've heard great things about Godox and Profoto.  I'd like to start small - with a single light and be able to grow from there.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

-Ted

If you want to use TTL, your only options are the Leica branded (rebadged Nissin) flashes or the Nissin hammerhead flash with a firmware update. So a SF60 and SFC1 as a commander.

For manual flash you can chose pretty much anything and use the simplest trigger they have. You’ll be controlling the flashes manually and you’ll be limited to the flash sync speed.

Personally, in studio, I think manual is just as fast and offers more consistency. I only use TTL for dynamic situations outdoors like outdoor portraits in changing light. I use Godox because it’s cheaper than Prophoto and does the same job. I also use some legacy Elinchrom and Broncolor gear I’ve accumulated over the years with no issue. With the Godox I use either a Fuji or Nikon trigger because I already have them. You’re only using the middle pin in manual mode.

Gordon

• Like 1

7 hours ago, tedwill said: