Are they really that bad?? Please let us know.

dougdarter

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I've only been a member a day or so, and already I'm thinking about deleting this forum from my favourites:(

Why??

The continual and incessant 'trashing' of the M8, for whatever reason. It's pretty dispiriting, especially when I have nothing but praise for mine. Perhaps it's because I'm an ex film photographer, who has used M's in the past, and I can work with, and see through their idiosyncrasies.

Is it perhaps a case of only those who have a faulty copy who post, as one may expect, and those that are happy with theirs generally keep quiet?

I would like therefore, those that are happy with their camera, to please go on record here, and say so.

I am aware of perhaps 20 or so in the UK for sale used since they were issued, there may be more of course, but I can't find them.

As an ex Canon 'tog, I know of many more 1D MkIII's that are being disposed of, and these are newer than the M8!

So please, if you appreciate your M8 for what it is - an excellent tool, and not just a piece of jewellery, please post here, and let those others know that it's not all bad.

Please don't let's start another 'trash the M8' thread, with all the horror stories, just those which are M* friendly and positive.

Thanks,

Doug

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The files are beautiful when corrected, the handling and build quality is superb, and the lenses are as good as their reputation. The firmware has been slow in coming, the White balance is erratic. and the filters and coding are a nuisance. But, overall I am quite poitive about the M8, and I hope you enjoy yours as much as I enjoy mine . Regards. Dr