king of bokeh vs 35mm APO

kengai

Guest Nowhereman
3 hours ago, Al Brown said:

...I noticed you asked a very similar question a few years ago here

Thanks for alerting us to this. Yes, just looked at the other thread and don't see why the OP wants to repeat that discussion which, at 5 pages, was thorough and informative.

'KoB' may simply be a synonym for 'Version 4'.

I have no experience with the APO, but do find the KoB to be a magnificent lens on film, in fact, my very favorite Leica lens.  The APO certainly has higher resolving power and reduced chromatic aberrations.  This would be particularly beneficial in high megapixel digital bodies.  I think that's the deciding factor in choosing between the two.  Unless, one is enamored with the KoB rendering, the APO would seem to be the superior lens.

IMHO.

Edited by Danner
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Nowhereman said:

Thanks for alerting us to this. Yes, just looked at the other thread and don't see why the OP wants to repeat that discussion which, at 5 pages, was thorough and informative.

While I completely agree that we have more than enough thread duplication there is a subtle difference. The previous thread was about the differences between the KOB and the then current ASPH. This thread is about the KOB & APO. :)