Family life with just the Q2?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm a longtime Fuji shooter who has just moved to the Q2. I couldn't be happier with the new camera—I love everything about it. I haven't yet sold my old camera gear—a Fuji X100V and X-Pro3 with primes ranging from 24mm to 85mm equivalent—but am planning to do so to retrospectively fund the new purchase.

I'm a hobby photographer who takes pictures of my family, and I'm most comfortable in the normal focal-length range. One of the reasons I moved to the Q2 was that the vast majority of my pictures are taken between 28mm and 50mm. I figured that I could eliminate all lens-swapping by just using the Q2 and its crop modes, and so far I've been right. But I'm having a little trouble fully committing to just the Q2. I keep asking myself: What if I want a long zoom for when my son (who's now three) plays soccer? What if I want an 85mm lens for portraits? What if, what if, what if? The Fuji kit is currently sitting on its shelf, unsold.

It's possible for me to keep the X-Pro3 and a lens or two, just for the occasional times when I want to use one a focal length outside of the Q2's range. On the other hand, simplicity is a big part of the reason I decided to move to Leica. I was tired of asking myself what equipment to bring. So I want to sell my old gear—but I"m also questioning whether that would be a wise decision.

How have other amateur photographers fared, over the long term, documenting their families with just the Q / Q2, or the equivalent lenses—say a 28mm and 50mm? Have you found yourselves missing longer lenses and buying cameras to support them? Or have you found that, at the end of the day, normal focal lengths are perfectly rewarding? I know this is more about expectations and preferences than equipment, but I'd be curious to hear subjective thoughts!