How long to get GPS signal lock on S3?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I am new to the S system (S3) and I have yet to get a GPS lock when outdoors. The camera's GPS function is enabled (On) in the menus and the  satellite indicator appears in the top LCD screen with an X, indicating no lock (and I can confirm no GPS metadata in image). Are there any known issues I should be aware of and, if not, how long does it typically take to get a GPS lock assuming open field with no line of site issues? I've searched the forum and found some GPS related post cover time sync problem, but I'm getting nothing. I'm not getting a lock in the same locations that I would get a fast (<10-15s) using my 1Dxii.

Any help appreciated,

Thanks!

-Roland.

2 hours ago, hotshew said:

Hi, I am new to the S system (S3) and I have yet to get a GPS lock when outdoors. The camera's GPS function is enabled (On) in the menus and the  satellite indicator appears in the top LCD screen with an X, indicating no lock (and I can confirm no GPS metadata in image). Are there any known issues I should be aware of and, if not, how long does it typically take to get a GPS lock assuming open field with no line of site issues? I've searched the forum and found some GPS related post cover time sync problem, but I'm getting nothing. I'm not getting a lock in the same locations that I would get a fast (<10-15s) using my 1Dxii.

Any help appreciated,

Thanks!

-Roland.

Never noticed any problems/delay with my S3. I would contact Leica; expect a response within a few days (or ask via the national representative) : https://en.leica-camera.com/Service-Support/Repair-Maintenance