Show your Bird shots taken with Sigma 150-600

Ktsa5239

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I thought maybe we should start a new thread to collect bird shots with just the Sigma 150-600mm 

I feel like it’s such a game changer to get a lens of such long reach with this level of sharpness. It might help other birding enthusiasts decide whether they would get this lens.

here is a white face heron

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by Ktsa5239
  • Like 8

Ktsa5239,

Very nicely done, great shots indeed. I'm a BIF photographer that had to purchase Sony gear to get the longer telephoto reach. Use the A9ii & A7r4 with 100-400 and 200-600 lenses. They are incredibly sharp. But I missed using my SL2 and getting the Leica colors. With the SL2 I've been limited to the Lumix Pro 70-200mm f4 which is also very sharp on the SL2, perhaps one of the best Lumix lenses to use with the Leica gear. Using it with the 1.4x extender also retains the sharpness very well.  I tried the Tamron 100-400 but was disappointed in the softness on the long end. After all, when you purchase a telephoto lens, most likely you will always be using it on the long end, so sharpness on shorter FLs does't matter that much.  In the past I used the first issue Sigma Sport 150-600mm with my Nikon gear and that was also a very sharp lens, but oh so heavy to carry around.

So now that Sigma has cone out with this new lens for the L mount, it interests me.  I'll wait and see what other reviews come up on it from real life photographers, not just those who test lenses for reviews. It's nice that other manufacturers like Sigma and Panasonic are filling in the gaps Leica seems to have left behind.

Thanks for starting this thread, looking forward to some other contributions to it.

Robert

• Like 3

13 hours ago, Robert E said:

Ktsa5239,