Advice - Q2 vs SL2S

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey everyone - I currently own a Q2 and a Q2 Monochrom...I work as a safety director for a contractor in the Washington, DC area and have recently been asked if I would be willing to take photos of some of our work / craftsmanship to be printed (fairly large).  Having dug around a bit, there actually seems to be a market for construction photos - however, I have quickly realized that the Q2 isn't the camera for such photos.  The focal length is not quite wide enough for many of the interior shots that I would need to get.  I have been contemplating trading the Q2 for the SL2S combo with the 24-70 as I think it would work better.  Anyway, I was curious if the images I get from that system are going to have the magic of the Q2?  I have read tons of reviews and feel like I end up more conflicted than anything.  I used to shoot Sony before converting to Leica and what I don't want is a Sony Alpha Camera with a Sigma lens...just with Leica logos on them...

Anyone on here have experience with both cameras that could maybe give some advice?  Thanks in advance!  

I should add that since I purchased the monochrom - I have barely used my Q2...at least for personal work, 99% of what I shoot is black and white.  I would never ever ever get rid of the Q2M!

Edited by Craig Clark
addition

Hi Craig, I bought a Q2M but had to return it after a month as the camera rendered sunbursts very poorly ....... rather than rays I got a grid-like pattern that looked like  reflection off the sensor or focusing grid. I loved the Q2M otherwise but given this significant issue I determined that the M was perhaps not ready for prime-time. So I am looking for a Q2 if you want to sell yours. Please let me know. Thanks, Jeff

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Craig Clark said: