Cocked Shutter Question

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello, all. I’m still learning my M3 and had a question: Should I leave the shutter cocked, un-cocked or does it even matter? In other words, after snapping a shot, should I advance the film lever and thereby cock the shutter even if that means the shutter may remain cocked for days, or longer? 

31 minutes ago, AceVentura1986 said:

Hello, all. I’m still learning my M3 and had a question: Should I leave the shutter cocked, un-cocked or does it even matter? In other words, after snapping a shot, should I advance the film lever and thereby cock the shutter even if that means the shutter may remain cocked for days, or longer? 

Hello Ace,

Nice camera.

The reason Leitz used a big, overbuilt, slow running shutter in an M3 was to make it more robust, more reliable & more durable. That is the same reason that they used an idea from the clock/watch industry invented hundreds of years ago which is called a "stackfreed" to have a more durable & long lasting spring to power the shutter. Keeping in mind that many of the mechanisms used in the manufacture of "miniature cameras" were copied from the clock/watch industry. As were bicycles & bicycle chains.

A stackfreed mechanism allows a maker to take a spring & wind it up to a certain point & then to lock it. The spring is then wound to a second point & then locked again. The mechanism is then engaged with the spring so that the portion of the spring that is being used to power the device is in between the 2 locked positions. This way the portion of the spring's potential power that is used to power something is that "sweet spot" after the lowest power & before the highest power of the spring.