M240 / Voigtländer lens: How to bring up correct framelines

Casual

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and to Leica M in particular.

I recently bought a M240 M-P and while I'm waiting for a Voigtländer Nokton 35mm to arrive, I'm using a 40mm Nokton f 1.4 instead.

Under Manual Lens Detection I have selected 35 f/1.4 asph 11874/11883 but I seem to be getting the wrong framlines, those of 50/75mm.

How can I bring up the framelines for 35mm?

I am on firmware 2.1.0.0

Thank you in advance.

Edited by Casual

• Casual changed the title to M240 / Voigtländer lens: How to bring up correct framelines
1 hour ago, Casual said:

How can I bring up the framelines for 35mm?

I seem to recall that the flange of the lens can be filed down to bring up 35mm instead of 50mm frame lines. I did it easily on a Summicron 40/2 but i have no experience with the CV 40/1.4. 

This is expected behaviour. The lens menu just makes sure the files are tagged with the correct metadata, and appropriate digital corrections are applied. For framelines, even the digital M cameras use a version of the mechanical frameline selection system that dates back to the 1950s. The only Leica with a 40mm frameline is the original film CL from the 1970s, and this frameline is always visible rather than selected by the lens (you'll see both 40mm and 50mm framelines when a 40mm lens is mounted on that body). I've always been slightly horrified by the idea of taking a file to the mount to get a different frameline; it's a fairly common modification, but will devalue your lens.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

11 minutes ago, Anbaric said:

... will devalue your lens.

It will not. Owned, filed and sold Rokkor 40/2 latest, CLE version.  Nokton is nothing special lens, either. 

Film CLs and R3M(A) are very small market sector comparing to film and digital Ms and all kind of mirrorless, which not using framelines at all. 

Edited by Ko.Fe.

8 hours ago, Ko.Fe. said: