Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello fellow Leica users,

Long story short, I've been a film Leica M shooter for a while now (M2), and I've been considering buying my first digital M. Since they are not even close as repairable as fully mechanical analog M's, I really don't want to spend that much money on a digital one. 
So I came across a lady willing to sell me her M9 for a "bargain" (something like U$250), but as you guys can tell from the picture above, it comes with the dreaded corroded sensor. 
I'm no professional and I want one of these to try them out, since I've never truly used one.
My question is: how's the situation of this one in particular, can it be used in anyway in this condition? Is it worth it for the price? And finally, is the 1000U$ dollars repair worth in my situation? 

I'll be very happy with any contributions.

Best Regards,

Roger

At that price you could probably ebay it 'for parts or broken' and get more than you paid. The combined price of body + repair may well be worth it, provided the repairer is confident of success and can guarantee the fix for a reasonable time (I've no idea what their success rate is, or whether a sensor can be too far gone to fix, in which case it would be a paperweight).

38 minutes ago, Roger Vorbeck said:

Hello fellow Leica users,

Long story short, I've been a film Leica M shooter for a while now (M2), and I've been considering buying my first digital M. Since they are not even close as repairable as fully mechanical analog M's, I really don't want to spend that much money on a digital one. 
So I came across a lady willing to sell me her M9 for a "bargain" (something like U$250), but as you guys can tell from the picture above, it comes with the dreaded corroded sensor. 
I'm no professional and I want one of these to try them out, since I've never truly used one.