Red filter for monochrom?

Erikvw

To my knowledge Leica produced several red filters for ltm lenses (in the era of their ltm film cameras). I have a ltm Thambar with a clip on POOGL (dark red) filter.  But if you use google you will find also E-type red filters from Leica/Leitz.

On the other hand B+W have red filters for b&w photography in most sizes.  And B+W filters are by all means as good as Leica filters. 

• Like 2

On the CCD based M Monochrom: With a red filter- the light meter picks up more light than the sensor, add 1/3rd~2/3rd exposure compensation. Focus shift with a red filter is dependent on the lens, the APO-Lanthar shows no focus shift. Same will be true of the APO-Summicron. Use the IR index of the lens as an indicator of focus shift. On the original Summicrons it was close to the F2 mark- you will not see focus shift.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

17 hours ago, BrianS said:

On the CCD based M Monochrom: With a red filter- the light meter picks up more light than the sensor, add 1/3rd~2/3rd exposure compensation. Focus shift with a red filter is dependent on the lens, the APO-Lanthar shows no focus shift. Same will be true of the APO-Summicron. Use the IR index of the lens as an indicator of focus shift. On the original Summicrons it was close to the F2 mark- you will not see focus shift.

Not sure how much IR index would be available to typical M camera & lens user.

I don't recall ever seeing IR index on focus scale of the contemporary M lenses, also can't see it on later R lenses.  I know IR Index exists as SMC Pentax-M and Nikkor AiS lenses in my hands have it, all theoe lenses belong to 1970s/1980s design and production. 

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

On 4/20/2021 at 12:14 AM, BrianS said:

I tend to use classic Leica glass- the IR index on my 5cm F1.5 Summarit is just outside of F2. Once the marks started falling within F2, I figure they quit putting them on.