Need help with manual focus accuracy on Leica S

aksclix

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello folks - I am new to Leica S and to be honest, I haven’t done a whole lot of manual focusing in the “pre-focus-peaking” era.. I recently got an S 006 and also got an adapter to use some Hasselblad V lenses on the S body.. I have the 60-120 f4.8 and the 150mm f4.. I shot a dozen photos with both lenses and not one of those are in focus.. I am trying to shoot wide open, not shooting landscape.. the subject looks sharp in the viewfinder for a fair distance as I keep twisting the focus ring.. how do I know when it’s actually in focus if it seems to stay sharp for about 10 degrees of the twist in the viewfinder? do I just learn how to do this by trial and error or is there a trick? 

1 hour ago, dritz said:

I had the Leica adapter and found it very accurate to use. Are you using an off-brand adapter? Perhaps you can visit a shop that has an adapter in stock to try?

Dean

I have a metabones adapter. No stores close by to try.. Although, how does having a Leica adapter help? Is there some focus confirmation beep? 

Focus on S006 depends on a calibrated body (since what you see in the optical viewfinder comes via the mirror, not the sensor), a sufficiently accurate adapter (ensuring that the lens' axis is perpendicular on the sensor), and ok eyes. For the latter, remember that you can adjust the diopter on the optical viewfinder quite a bit (turn the diopter ring until the symbols in the optical viewfinder are tick sharp). 

I would put the camera+lens on a tripod, focus on something 10-ish m away with the lens wide open, bring the memory card to the computer to check focus, and repeat the procedure a few times.

Do the same with all lenses you have.If this test fails, it will be very hard to expect images to be in focus in the field...