35mm summicron APO M vs 35mm summilux FLE

BrettW

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I’m a Leica newbie and I’m genuinely curious what the overall difference is between these two lenses, is there a noticeable difference? I understand they are two different focal lengths and the APO allows close focusing. Is the APO just better controlled and sharper than the Summilux? Or is it a completely different rendering?

Thanks,

Brett

Would be great to know if they managed to fix the chromatic aberrations of the FLE. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Haha 4

Advertisement (gone after registration)

12 hours ago, BrettW said:

Hi,

I’m a Leica newbie and I’m genuinely curious what the overall difference is between these two lenses, is there a noticeable difference? I understand they are two different focal lengths and the APO allows close focusing. Is the APO just better controlled and sharper than the Summilux? Or is it a completely different rendering?

Thanks,

Brett

Summilux 35 FLE is 1 full stop faster, where the CA can be corrected in post editing.  The 50 APO has more CA then the summilux in one of the post here, so it's not legendary nor bulletproof.  Sharpness? when both are on f/2, they should be about the same.  I think the most noticeable is the size and weight? 

When 35 FLE just came out, the reviews were God like.  It's all marketing so does this APO, just go with your need.  If you don't shoot in dark nor huge backlit, then any old Leica 35mm (or even VM) work mostly the same. 

Edited by jaeger
  • Like 3

1 hour ago, jaeger said: