Q2M and the use of Silver Efex

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I love black and white photography, but getting there with a digital camera requires a decision. Every time. Regardless of the original intent.

In an attempt to eliminate the "Color or Black and White" decision I just got a beautiful new Q2M. I bought the Monochrom version not because of some potential tonal or file quality advantage, but rather to eliminate the fatigue and uncertainty of the constant "color or B&W?" decision. I like the similarity to loading a roll of Tri-X into the M6. It's like, "There, that's what you're shooting today, now go!" :)

Typically, when I decide to convert a color image to B&W, I use Silver Efex, bringing me to the second decision...which adjustments (presets) do I start with? I'm not an artist. I don't have a "vision" for my photographs, so I like to play with different conversions in Silver Efex. It's fun but exhausting. And I tend to go overboard with processing. Sometimes this is fine, but mostly it's just too much.

So, the Q2M eliminates the color-or-b&w decision. This is great. I've noticed (after only one day, admittedly) that with the Q2M I'm not tweaking the RAW files much, and I have not yet opened a file from the Monochrom with Silver Efex. A quick "auto" adjust in Capture One and maybe a dash of exposure/contrast tweaking and I like the results.

I guess if there's a question here it would be, do you find that your black-and-white post-processing has changed dramatically after getting the Q2M (beyond just doing the color-to-b&w conversions)? Do you still find yourself using Silver Efex? I will of course be playing with all of the options as I grow into the Q2M, but I'm curious how it's affected others.

Jack

Edited by jackbaty
  • Like 1