Leica gear for media coverage

hansvons

Advertisement (gone after registration)

The following is a lengthy post. But perhaps there are others out there who are in my shoes, so please bear with me.

I’m a newbie to this forum, and I’m a newbie to Leica in the digital age. However, I own an R4 with a Summicron 50mm that I bought in 1990. The camera is dead, but the lens works still nicely. By profession, I work in the advertising and media industry, mostly as a director and writer. The first half of my career, I have spent with lensing commercials. The brands back then were Arri, Kodak, Zeiss, Cooke and Angenieux. Today, Kodak is dead, Arri is still leading the pack, the traditional cine lens manufacturers are still around but facing intense competition from Japan and now from China.
What’s more, the market itself has changed immensely too. There’s still the high-budget production with expensive talent requiring all the bells and whistles on set, but the projects, which a small and dedicated team can accomplish, grow more and more these days. And they can be more interesting and challenging in good ways.

I’ve owned cinema orientated gear for ten years (Red cameras, set of Zeiss Super Speeds) but sold most of it right in time before the full-format hype in cinema land kicked in badly and before COVID-19 killed the market altogether. Thus, lucky me, I have some funds to invest in new gear after re-orientating and re-evaluating what I need — no GAS here ;)
After investing a year of thought into this, with COVID-19 sending me into a not so much welcomed hiatus (the industry is coming back slowly now), I concluded that economically I don’t need cinema-orientated gear anymore since these jobs are in decline; I can rent whenever I have to. But, as it seems, jobs that require both video and photos, what I call media coverage because it’s not genuine filmmaking, are on the rise.