How and Why does 50 APO perform better than other 50s

MrFriendly

Advertisement (gone after registration)

From an optical engineering perspective, could someone please explain how and why the APO-Summicron-M 50mm performs better than other Leica M 50mm lenses (namely the Summilux-M 50mm and Summicron-M 50mm).  I know MTF charts don't tell the whole story, but I'm mainly interested in the differences between the MTF charts and other measurable differences.

My memory is a bit hazy in regards to the details, but I remember while back I was watching Mr. Karbe speak, which at the moment I can't find the source, where he said something to the effect that most of the extra cost of the 50 APO (iirc, compared to the 50 Summilux) went into the assembly and the housing of the lens, and not the design or the glass.  What does that mean? and why does the assembly cost $5K more than the Summilux?

I am no optical engineer, others may chip in, but general consensus is that to manufacture lens at reasonable cost it has to be designed in such a way that manufactured components and assembly can be done with realistic tolerances while delivering ideal design parameters.  This can, apparently, be achieved easier with physically bigger lenses, don’t ask how is this related as I don’t know. It is perhaps principal reasons why modern lenses that are designed to provide quality image on unforgiving digital sensor including Leica L mount are big. 

APO Summicron M 50mm is high performance and very small lens at the same time.  Precise machining and micro-meter assembly tolerances plus QC that goes with it are key contributors to the final cost.

Leica being Leica with QC being more marketing than shopfloor endeavour managed to drop the ball with early batches by omitting to prevent optical elements not being pained black entering into final lens assembly that caused internal flaring - being discussed here following lens launch.  

5 hours ago, MrFriendly said: