Need help with my vintage Leicaflex SL!

EMarch

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi! First of all, forgive me if I'm posting this thread in the wrong forum. I'm new to Leica and didn't see anything about the old Leicaflex SL model specifically. The issue I'm having is related to focusing. My camera belonged to my late grandfather and was recently given to me by my grandmother. I believe it's a 1968 version? The lens attached to it is a Summicron - R 1:2/50. Anyway, I can't seem to get my subject to focus. When I turn the focus ring, I can definitely see my subject going out of focus, but where it should be sharply focused, it's still a little blurry and fuzzy. Like it gets so close to being focused, to the point where I almost wonder if it is and my eyes are just fuzzy, until ultimately I realize it's definitely not in focus like it should be. So long story short, I can't get my subject in focus. I read in the manual about what the rangefinder looks like when the subject isn't in focus and that's what it looks like all the time. At some points, however, my subject is just way, way out of focus. Hope that makes sense. 

Also, I don't know if it matters, but when I got the camera, there was just an old roll of film in it. I didn't get around to putting new film in it until today, which is when I started noticing this issue. From what I can remember, right after I got the camera and I was researching it and messing around with it a bit, the focus was working fine. Aside from a couple times since then of taking it out and messing around with it, I haven't done anything with the camera.

If someone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it. I've never owned an old film camera (or any film camera) like this so I have no idea what to think or where to go, aside from a local camera shop. Before doing that, however, I'm trying to scour the internet for as much info. as possible. Thank you!