Leica Q original vs Fuji X100V vs DSLR set up - for amateur photographer capturing family moments

themikey

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello all - I am an amateur photographer but am expecting the birth of a little one soon! 

I want a camera to capture the birth process at the hospital (since no outside photographers allowed), and also to document the little one's growth and capture family moments.

I usual shoot with my iphone 10 max camera. I also have a sony rx100iii that I bought a few years ago hoping to use it more; I haven't used it much. I also have a DSLR canon EOS m50 with kit lens 15 - 45 f3.5/6.3

I usually shoot in JPEG because it is quicker to share and I don't have much time to post process. I would probably keep a raw copy just in case I ever got around to learning editing or having a professional edit. 

My question is: I can source a leica Q for about 2500 USD or a fuji x100v for about 1600 new. I also can just get a couple prime lenses for my canon eos m50 for probably $400 - $600. 

Could someone help me through the decision process here? I have no illusions: I am not a professional and will likely not spend hours editing raws. The camera will likely not make me a better photographer. But something about the Leica draws me to it - mostly the brand history and the photos I have seen taken from it. At the same time, the x100v seems to do a superb job as well and some have said takes better jpegs. I also do hope to get better at photography and learn more about editing if time allows (i don't think it will). I want something to capture the important moments of life.  

Appreciate all the thoughts and feedback. Thanks!

• Like 1