MD 262 + 50 summilux or an M10-D

Murdog

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

Just a little background first... I am an amateur street photographer and solely shoot street. I currently own a Leica M7, which has been my main camera for 3 years and this will be first move to digital.

I really love how engaged I am in the moment while shooting film, so I wanted to hang onto that experience, which is why I have chosen the screenless option. Although I love the process of shooting film, I mainly shoot at night where I lack high ISO and sometimes I get lazy when it comes to developing. 

My current lenses are  a 28mm Elmarit and a Voigtlander 35 1.4. 28mm being my favourite length. 

I will be buying used and my heart was set on an M10-D but while looking online, for the same money I could buy an MD 262 plus a 50 summilux for the same price. A 50 being a lens I have been hoping to buy in the future as I feel the 35 is too close to the lens I shoot most, the 28.

So just looking for suggestions, or maybe someone who has used both 240/D262 and M10/D. Or even someone coming from film. (I will still keep my M7) 

Any help would be great, thanks.

M-D typ 262 plus Summilux 50 wins hands down !

For some years now that I use M-D 262 , I've never feel upgrading to M10-D (I do have the plain M10 also).

With precaution 3200 ISO is nice with M-D, that's enough for me: even in dim situation which I prefer fast lens anyway (Noctilux/Summilux when I need).

Funny that when I used the 28mm Summaron at f/5.6 inside dim cathedral I have nice results at 3200 ISO, blessing of digital comparing to b&w 3200 film...

Myself...never need using 6400 ISO or more.

Look like they are made for each other, very nice handling top/left M 262 (M-D with screen) plus Summilux 50mm

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

chrome Lux not bad mounted on chome M4, here

Edited by a.noctilux