We don’t need a 50mm Q2, we need a 75mm Q2

Tobers

Advertisement (gone after registration)

There have been lots of posts over the years about having a Q/Q2 with a 50mm lens. But, with the Q2, there’s more than enough pixels at the 50mm crop to be usable, so there’s really no point in having a 50mm Q2. The Q2’s additional croppability is the only thing that makes me want to switch away from the Q-P I have.

So I think we don’t need a 50mm Q2. We need a 75mm Q2. With digital zoom, this could likely give us a usable set of focal lengths up to or beyond 150mm at very high quality. A fixed 75mm lens, say at f/2.5 or 2.8, would not be too big. It would also avoid the complexities of a physical zoom lens.

As an ex sport photographer, I learnt how delightful it is to work with multiple camera bodies and rarely have to change lenses. Just grab the camera combo you need for a specific shot. I used to have 3 Canon 1D bodies, and it was seamless - all the buttons and feel are the same and instantly familiar. A 2-camera package of a 28mm Q2 and a 75mm Q2 would be small, precise, delightful to use and cover all the main focal ranges you’d generally need. 

Also this approach would likely not dent the M sales as it’s fairly rare to use those at 75mm and above (as an ex M shooter I know the “fun” with longer lenses at wide apertures). This was often cited as a reason for Leica not to do a 50mm Q-model.

Thoughts from the collective?

• Like 5

I can't speak for others here, but I would prefer a second model with a fast 40mm lens. I believe this would be a nice option for people finding 28mm too wide, not hurt M sales because this focal length is not covered within the M system - and still work well as a stand-alone camera (which is how I see the Q).

Alexander

• Like 5
  • Haha 1

I would prefer
Q2 with 15mm diagonal fisheye for landscape (what i often do)
Q2 with 90mm for portrait work (what i never do)
Q2 with 105mm macro for macro use i often did