Flash unit

sminteer

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to Lecia systems, just bought SL2.  Surprised by the lack of flashes, just SF-40 and 60(?).  Are these really the only 2 options, any other off brands out there?  Looks like I'll get the SF-40 as the only difference seems to be remote control which I don't really need.

Congratulations on your new SL2.  You will enjoy it.  The SF40 is designed to be used on-camera.  The SF60 can be used off camera when used with the remote device for creative lighting possibilities.   Purely personal.   Other brands of flash units will work but in manual mode.  Since you indicated you don’t need off camera lighting - go with the SF40 if you want full auto operation.  

You can use flashes from just about every vendor on your Leica. I went with Godox and use the XPro commander with a Nikon pinout to use them off-camera.  No problems whatsoever with using them in manual mode.  

Do search around though as I’ve read reports from other forum users that the Nissin Air system flashes are compatible with the Leica SF C1 commander, but I can’t vouch for it.  

• Thanks 1

both flashes are underpowered.  SF60 has a Gide number of 60 @ 20mm, GN 39 @ 50mm

obviously the SF 40 has GN 40.

Benefits of the SF60 are Wireless with SF-c1, more power output, and the ability of faster recharge time with external Sony power pack .

if you need more power the Nissin MG10 can be adapter with SF-C1.

that is it for TTL and HSS.

you can use many other flashes in manual mode. just be aware that the hotshoe of the SL2 is a new size and does not fit every flash.

6 hours ago, Anakronox said:

Do search around though as I’ve read reports from other forum users that the Nissin Air system flashes are compatible with the Leica SF C1 commander, but I can’t vouch for it.