Leica TL2 greenish tint

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I have purchased a brand new Leica TL2 on Ebay from a reputable seller and I was happy to try it out and compare the results with my very old Panasonic GF3. I'm not a professional photographer (I have no special software nor do post-processing of pictures, I use ooc JPGs)! I also bought the Elmarit 18mm 2.8 TL lens.

As the day passed and it was getting darker I have noticed that the indoor pictures (with artificial light) look more and more yellowish/greenish, more noticably in the shadows. Switching to video, it became even more noticable. I tried to change the white balance, but had no luck (AWB looked exactly like the Tungsten option, so I think the camera "guessed" the situation correctly. The higher numerical values looked more and more orange/reddish, but I could not set the temperature to any value to produce even a little close to white). I also tried to change the film type, with no luck. I had just updated the firmware from 1.4 to 1.5, but there was no change. I downloaded a few pictures to my iPhone, but they looked same on the camera LCD and iPhone screen (to rule out any LCD problem).

On the other hand, with a very few exceptions, my GF3 produced correct WB and whites (when it was off it was towards reddish, but that happened in very special cases), and I even tried my iPhone XS, which was also correct (very close to what the GF3 produced). Again, I looked at them not as a professional, so I'm sure those have plenty of inaccuracies, but the Leica ones are noticable to the naked eye of an amateur, on the LCD screens.