Help: How to stop M8 from adding green to JPEG

Cjh2000

Advertisement (gone after registration)

My newly acquired M8 will be much more enjoyable if it can stop adding green to my JPEG file.

First of all, I'm only a hobbyist and not a professional. I will take JPEG file if the output is decent because I don't want to sit in my computer editing RAW files. For the last week I've been shooting fall foliage and the JPEG file all turn my yellow leaves into yellow-green leaves. Very annoying!

I am using Voigtlander 40mm f1.4 lens with B+W 486 UV/IR filter. Camera firmware is 2.024. I have already set color saturation to low. The Raw files is much truer to original color while the JPEG all bias to green regardless of my color saturation setting.

Does anyone have the same problem and is there a way to set the camera to not adding green color to JPEG files? It would save my day if anyone can help. Thanks. CJ

The left is DNG file, and the right is JPEG.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

The M8 jpg's do have a nasty green hue in Lightroom, and difficult to correct.  And a very lurid green when photographing lawns.

Best to use the DNG files as they are good colours ( I always use auto white balance WB) and lovely plasticy to manipulate.

I used to shoot just JPG's during first year or so with my first M8, and argue with Jaap that JPG's were good enough 😐.  But after getting tired of the greens...well i now just shoot raw DNG files. They are a lot more fun to process.

Welcome to the Leica family Cjh2000.

Edited by david strachan
Hello Percy..
  • Haha 1

I expect you are using "Auto" White Balance. And my guess is the camera is seeing the fair amount of beige (ground, middle building and chimney, even the autumn leaves) and assuming they are actually gray, and removing an equivalent amount of reddish-yellow from everything.