Time to say hello....

Rhys

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi folks, I'm Rhys originally from York and now living near Goole. I joined a little while ago to ask questions and read up on 'stuff', and now I'm posting a 'hello' as of since earlier today my first ever Leica arrived. It might not be the latest digital, or even an 'M', but it's mine and I'm chuffed to bits with it.

It's going to take a little while to get used to it, and I've managed to put a roll of film in it with no problems as far as I know 🙄😊 it might be an old roll of Kodak 200 iso (many years out of date) but it's a practice roll and it'll do to give it (and me..) a little test.

Here's an unboxing vid...

I've never done one before, but thought since it's special (as I've always wanted a Leica), it'll be something to look back on.

Bit of background..

Loved photography sine i was young enough to hold a camera. My late mum gave me her old Kodak Instamatic 110 when I was a school and that was it. Had a Minolta Dynax 5000i as my first proper camera, then Canon EOS cameras (1000fn. 100 and 5) then jumped ship to Nikon with an F4E. Did a Photography degree in Middlesbrough using mainly old, vintage roll film Zeiss Ikons and Pentax Spotmatics plus Hasselblads (eventually owning one), graduating in '99, then went into plastering... 🙄

Went digital with a D1x, D300 and finally a D3s. Backache from lugging it around got me onto Fuji with the X-Pro2 (fantastic camera!) But a yearning for film again has brought me full circle.. I may sell my Nikon cameras and lenses to buy an 'M', but small steps (and viewfinders) first. 😎

I'm driving to Poland very shortly so hopefully will take some pics while I'm there. My other half is Polish, and we're going to stop in the deep, rural countryside for a week to visit family.

Cheers all, and look forward to joining in on my journey.

Rhys

• Like 2