A Leica SL against all odds

Torpille

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everybody,

I am a surprised but a proud owner of a leica sl since this weekend. 

I got an offer for the SL just the body, which I couldn't refuse and had only a few minutes to decide me.

I've been using the M for a few years now and preferably with the 35mm or with my favorite focal length the 90mm. 

One year ago I made the choice of all leica, sold my 6d gun slr and bought a CL. First for the size of the CL system and to be able to use my M optics. 

I know many of you use it and love it but even if the image quality is there most of the time, I'm a little disappointed by the native optics of the system.

I use the 11-23mm and 18-56mm zooms and the 18mm. 

I sold the 23mm which didn't excite me and preferred the 18mm for its compactness. 

the tl-35mm, which is not a focal length I use, was not an option. 

I regret having left the Canon EF lenses. 

I'm trying my luck again at leica, hoping it's the right one. 

But here it is, I don't have a native lens and I'm wondering about the choice of a first L lens to take for the SL. 

Even if my first choice would be the SL 90, summicrons are not in my budget, until I decide if I keep or sell my CL system.

TL lenses are obviously a possibility but I don't expect better than with the CL and apparently just with a resolution of 10 million pixels.

So the vario 24-90? But its size...

the sigma? the Panasonic? 

I'm not against your advice!

Cheers

1. If you still have your CL the rather excellent Sigma 56mm 1.4 (plus 23 and 35mm) is coming to L mount. So you'll get an 85mm which is close to the 90 you prefer. It'll be the cheapest solution and it's fast light sharp and well made. I have used it on Sony E mount and it's very very good.