Which one for casual everyday snaps, X1 or DL 109?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Just wondering now that I been looking to get a small, carry everywhere camera, if you have experience with both the D-Lux 190 and the X1, both can be found roughly for the same money... which one would you pick? I had an X1 and even though it was a little slow to operate, the files were pretty amazing, I have no experience with the 109. Thank you!

Just going through all this myself...  I own both the X1 and X2, as well as the DLux 7 (which should be very similar to the DLux 109), and am right now going through a series of "test shootings" to try to establish just which one I should grab when the M9 is just too much to carry...  Here are a few of my comments about the contestants.

Both X1 and X2 give better image quality than the DLux; the X1 is just a teeny bit better than the X2.  But they are SLOW, and the X1 controls keep changing with the slightest touch, eg when taking it out of a pocket.  So, for me the X1 is out of the race.

The one BIG problem with both X-es is that it is all but impossible to see the image on the screen in bright daylight (I just don´t want to fiddle with an extra finder, so I don´t own any).

The DLux has a far better screen, as well as a built-in EVF, so that problem is solved, at least.  Also, it is way faster in its responses (and has image stabilising).  The BIG problem here is the plethora of unnecessary and silly "extras" that complicate the handling for more serious shooting.  It takes days and weeks to get ti configured so the nonsense features are out of the way.

But, the DLux does the work when you come to terms with it, no doubt.  It doesn´t have that "real Leica" feeling that the X2 has, but I miss fewer shots with the DLux on a typical day.  So right now the X2 is also out of the race, sadly.  Only, now I´m starting to ask myself if the M9 with a tiny 35 mm is really that much more trouble to carry, after all?  🤔