Do you delete your raw/DNG? If not, why not?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Apologies if this has been discussed before - I tried a search but couldn’t find anything. 

I am trying to refine my haphazard workflow now that I have a nice new Q2. I’ve decided to ditch Lightroom because I never got on with it, having previously used Aperture for years. I’ve been using Luminar 4 for a few months but am trialling Capture One at the moment and it looks likely that I’ll move over to C1 when my trial is over. The question I’m wrestling with is whether to bother keeping my raw/DNG files or to refine a workflow focused on the “final” jpeg/tiff.

The context is that I’m a purely hobbyist photographer and a pretty poor one at that. I’ve been taking photographs on and off since the late 1970s but more regularly since 2003-ish. My digital archive currently consists of around 2000 files - I delete most of what I take because it isn’t very good and about half of my archive only survives because it has sentimental value rather than artistic merit.  Same with film - I take much less film-based images these days but most gets dumped immediately and I probably have a third-full A4 binder with 35mm and medium format slide and negs: if I lost that tomorrow it wouldn’t bother me because they aren’t very good. That might sound depressing but isn’t meant to - I’m always trying to up my game!

Over half of my photographs are black and white, so I process the few DNG that make it past initial deletion. Sometimes, I have left it at that, sometimes I have created a final jpeg/tiff version that bakes in the changes. I’m just wondering whether to always do that, produce a tiff version and delete everything else, including the original DNG and rely on whatever software I use (eg C1) any small jpegs I might need in the future.

Does this make sense? I can’t remember ever going back to a raw file and reprocessing it so I am wondering why I’m keeping any of them.