Wide angle on the SL2

Gavin Cato

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi guys,

I just bought a SL2 + 50/1.4 lux and am loving it to put it mildly.

I'm a very experienced photographer but new to Leica so I don't know the lenses that well.

I'm getting the 90/2 SL very soon, but need something on the wide side, around 21-28mm. 

I realise the 24-90 zoom is supposed to be quite good, but i'm more attracted to the idea of a smaller lens physically on the wider side. Can anyone recommend some M lenses in this range that perform really well on the SL2? The aim is landscapes. 

I don't need fast a f1.4 lens this wide (though it would be nice). 2.8 & up would be fine - as long as it is very nice optically for printing.

cheers

Gav

Very wide there are the  Voigtländer 10 or 12 mm on the Leica L-M adapter. Not fast - who needs speed for such a lens?- but very fine quality, small and light. You might see some vignetting and colour shift towards the extreme corners.
For 18 and 21 mm the Super-Elmar lenses are superb. Highly recpommended. There are a number of 28 mm M lenses -both new and used. You cannot go wrong with any of them.

I used the 21 SEM on my SL and absolutely loved it. Albeit I am a photographer who doesn’t pixel peep for perfect sharpness in the corners, I think stuff like that is the least important part of what makes a photograph good. The 21 SEM inspired me every single time I shot with it; I stupidly sold it after getting a 28 2.8 Elmar which is a lot of fun on the SL. 

If you’re the kind of person who obsesses over MTF charts, then get one of the native SL Summicron wides as they start to hit the market over the next year. If that kind of thing isn’t something you think about, by all means put an M prime on your SL and enjoy.

• Like 1