Thinking of getting a Leica D Lux 7

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi.

I’m thinking of going from photographing on my iPhone to a “real” camera and I’m a total noob when it comes to this stuff, however I like to take photos and I’m willing to learn.

Why Leica D Lux 7? Well, it looks like a fairly simple setup. Touchscreen, connectivity, no handling of lenses, and from the reviews I understand it’s pretty good at taking photos, videos is a low priority for me at the moment. Also, the pricepoint is in my range and it.... looks kinda nice. :)

All the reviews are pretty positive but users seems to think it’s overpriced and that it’s just an Panasonic LX 100 II in a new skin. Should this be a concern?

Soooo.... Is it an easy camera to learn on?

Can it take (technically) great photos?

What else will I have to buy, memory cards, batteries etc?

I would really like to be able to take macro shots of insects and things of that size, can it do that?

How does it handle nighttime photography?

What else should I know?

Thanks. :)

I have the D-Lux 109, the predecessor to the 7. I would highly recommend it, fantastic image quality and as easy or complex to use as you want. The lens is sharp, the f1.7 maximum aperture is wonderful. 

The big thing the Leica name gives you is an extra 2 years warranty. 

• Like 2

Am 28.7.2020 um 22:02 schrieb Moosewala:

Hi.

I’m thinking of going from photographing on my iPhone to a “real” camera and I’m a total noob when it comes to this stuff, however I like to take photos and I’m willing to learn.

Why Leica D Lux 7? Well, it looks like a fairly simple setup. Touchscreen, connectivity, no handling of lenses, and from the reviews I understand it’s pretty good at taking photos, videos is a low priority for me at the moment. Also, the pricepoint is in my range and it.... looks kinda nice. :)