Ever seen anything like this?

Bart D

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm still looking for a place in my area that I can trust with developing and scanning of the occasional film I use.

I've had some bad luck already: a place that processed a Ilford XP2 Super wrong so that it came out extremely grainy, a place that scratched some of the negatives - after having done a good job until that time and now something weird again.

The film is portra 160 and a lot of the negatives - and hence the scans - have a strange substance stuck to them. Shows up as in the screenshot (shown a 100% of the scan).
I picked the worst one.

Now I wonder if this could be something that I did wrong or just an error in the development.

I do miss the times when I would just drop off some rolls of slides or films and everything came back alright.

I do have one other worry: the 3rd negative from the end (#34) is scratched beyond believe. This one wasn't scanned.
This is my first time using a film leica. All other cameras I used have the SLR system of film loading/rewinding.
Could this be something I did wrong? Rewinding didn't sound that complicated, especially after I succeeded to load the film in one go 🙂 
I just flipped the R button, pulled out the rod and rewound, without any haste.
If it would seem this wasn't on me, then it's another error on the part of the lab.

PS  I know all the arguments for doing the development oneself and no, I'm not going there. I haven't in all the years I used nothing but slides and film and I'm not starting now 🙂 
I will look into doing my own scans when I have more time on my hands, when I'm retired.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by Bart D

18 hours ago, jankap said: