Jpeg and RAW Compression Setting

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Just found out about this, my only question is why wasn't this option set up in the firmwear, producing an uncompressed DNG? Getting there is really a chore and that it dissappears if the camera even goes to sleep. Then having to have a conversion program from a third party to produce a DNG from the Jpeg and RAW files, m8raw2dng. Just doesn't make sense. I am relatively new to the M8 (1 year). This is really a hidden feature, not well backed up but why, wouldn't an uncompressed DNG be easier. This greatly reduces noise at higher ISOs, still experimenting. 

Bear in mind when the M8 was launched storage space on SD cards and computers was at a premium, and expensive, so compressed was seen as a positive not a negative. The firmware option may have been considered but again the memory in the camera was pushed to the limit to accommodate what it did and high iso was I think also not seen as a feature to be marketed given the known limitations of the sensor, that it was possible at all to produce a digital M was seen as a triumph whatever the limitations. The software available at the time would also not extract the performance from an uncompressed file you can see now with modern software. The free Capture One with the camera bears no resemblance to C1 v20 today in what it can to a RAW file and yes I still have it on the computer just for a laugh.

The camera needs to be seen in the context of the time, of rapid, large leaps of performance of digital cameras, it was launched in Sept. 2006 the Nikon competitor in DSLR was the just launched (June 2006) D2Xs 10mp, you don't see many of those in use today. That had iso 100-800 up to 3,200 in camera pushed and took a microdrive storage of CF card, they were horrendously expensive.

Be kind to the old girl.

• Like 2