Q2....my first Leica...but nowhere to go from here.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been an amateur photographer all my life and I have owned every major brand of DSLR. My current camera kit it is a Fuji X-T4 and a bunch of lenses, however, I just purchased my first Leica ....a Q2. It was love at first site with the Q2. The photos from the Q2 are the nicest ones I have ever taken... Sharp and beautiful.  I am very comfortable with the controls of the Leica. The shutter and aperture controls are very similar to the Fuji (I really like the Fuji physical controls). Because of Leica's quality, I would love to move my kit to Leica, but I can't find what I want. I am not interested in a rangefinder. The S and SL are too large. I want the advantages of a full frame sensor and not another APS-C. Basically, I want a Q2 with TL-Lenses and L-Adapter. I then would be all in with Leica. Sony built the A7 III, which is about the same size (minus lens) as the Q2. So it can be done.

• Like 2

Max, welcome.

You have analyzed you needs very well and in so doing have discovered they cannot be met from the current Leica stable. A pity! But what are your reasons for eliminating the CL system, other than sensor size? What do you do with your best photos?

I would encourage you to revisit the CL option. Look at the fine images produced and displayed in the dedicated thread. For amateur needs it could be the right solution.

• Like 3

3 hours ago, Max EPR said: