jack-tucker

Investing in new Equipment: M10 vs SL2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi There,

I am thinking of upgrading my current system. 

I am a working photographer doing mainly reportage, editorial, travel photography. 

About 6 years back I switched back to Leica from Canon 5DII when I was finally able to afford an M-240-P. 

Since then I have been able to do most of my work with this camera using mainly a Summicron 35mm. Sometimes also 28mm and 75mm. 

Manual Focus works for most of my work pretty well. Overall I love the simplicity of the Leica M. 

3 Years back I bought an X-Pro2 with and some Lenses, as a backup and for those occasions I need Autofocus (and very rarely some short video but that's been neglect able, so far)

I like the Fuji, but compared to the Leica, I never really loved it as much as I love the M and working with the M. And one thing that bothers me is that I just don't get the look matching, when doing projects where I use both cameras.

But my M240 is very much ran down by now. I invested about 1500 Euro, 1.5 years ago to get it properly serviced but it has some issues again (I don't blame the camera, I didn't go soft on it). So I guess the next service would cost me another 1000+.

Now I am thinking about pros and cons of different options:

- Selling the M240 and buying the M10 (P, probably) (Don't know how much I could get from it as it needs to get serviced...). Keeping the Fuji as backup, for longer shots, autofocus and flash, little video...

- Selling the Fuji and all the fuji lenses, getting the M240 serviced and buying the SL2. Using my M glass with it and buying a Sigma Lens to be ready to use AF when needed. 

In the current situation, I have a limited budget and could not really afford one of the SL Lenses. Probably some time later, either two primes (35 and 90) or the 24-90. But It would take another year or so...