Best SD Card <merged>

astrostl

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Howdy folks! New to the forum as I just took the plunge on an M10 and 50 Lux. I have a pile of SD cards around here, but I recall the various compatibility issues being discussed. Is there a consensus "best" make/model of SD card in terms of compatibility, reliability, and speed? I poked around search, FAQ, wiki and didn't land on anything. Thanks!

Congratulations on your new kit! I am new to Leica with M10 being my first Leica camera so maybe someone else has better advice. I have been using SanDisk Extreme PRO 64GB UHS-I SDXC Read 95MBs/Write 90MBs with no issue. Seems there was some SD card incompatability issues last year but was fixed in last year's firmware 1.7.4.0. I am using firmware 1.10.4.0

From what I read "Use UHS I cards instead of UHS II. The M10 is compatible with UHS II cards, but does not use the full UHS II speed." "The Leica M10 supports SDHC/SDXC cards from 1GB up to 512 GB. We recommend to use cards with write speed 80 MB/s or higher in order not to restrict the cameras performance."

Edited by LBJ2
  • Like 2

There is not such things as best SD cards.

If we want to use the best way already owned SD Cards in M10, just follow some rules:

- in my experience, speedy cards over 90MB/s don't speed up the writing in my M10

- not too big capacity card (for me 32GB/64GB is fine)

- if used in another camera or other devices, the SD card must be formatted in computer as "exFAT" if possible

- then reformat the card in M10

Those "rules" let me using my old/new SD cards for more than one year my M10 without SD card troubles reported elsewhere.

Edited by a.noctilux
  • Like 2

The first card I used on my M10 was a previously formatted SanDisk 8GB SDHC card. My M10 had no problem with my old memory card.

I then purchased three brand new SanDisk 32GB SDHC cards. My M10 was unable to capture any images on the new cards.