Bitti

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have an opportunity to buy new equipment in the next few weeks and I’m still debating about medium format S007 or full 35 sl2. Recently I came across a non Leica product the fuji gfx 100, to get things more confusing. I have received estimate costs for the Sl2 for new and for used S 007 . I then received a proposal for a gfx that is very tempting as it is a 100 mp.sensor, maybe  very good for my big size prints. I am a commercial advertising photographer and I’ve used canon, Hasselblads all my career after abandoning LF film cameras. I am aiming to get bigger prints for my fine art work and best quality lenses. At Leica store in New York they let me try both Sl2 and S007 for a week each. At the moment I have to take a decision and buy the equipment. Could anyone give an advice? Also I’ve never owned a digital view finder camera. I shoot studio portraits, mainly lifestyle and occasionally autos. Thank you all, any comment would be precious and apreciated .

I have an SL (not 2), an S(007), and a GFX 100, with a full complement of S and Fuji GF lenses. In order of enjoyment, it is S(007) > GFX 100 > SL. In order of ease of getting a technically perfect shot, it is GFX 100 > (S + SL) - a tie for second place. For WOW factor of final output, S > GFX > SL. This last may just be my lack of expertise processing the Fuji files. As for the MP difference in prints, it shows up (to my eye) starting at over a meter wide. I dislike the EVF and have, in fact, removed it from the GFX, using only the back screen for composition. But then, I do landscape/architecture, and not portrait.

This is all intensely personal, and I know photographers who put all of these measures in different orders. GF lenses are also MUCH cheaper than Leica. I don't love them, but they are sharp as hell. Definitely try to pick up and shoot a few frames with the Fuji.

Edited by mgrayson3
  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1