50 cron APO - “Standard” or retro

GMB

32 minutes ago, GMB said:

Which version would you buy? Is the retro version worth the extra money?

"worth" ? It's just look and feel... so a strictly personal value that can be variable from -x to +y... 🙄

(as a definte lover of chrome lenses, me for instance have a fixed "+x" on them... 😉)

Edited by luigi bertolotti
  • Like 1

I have no experience with the "retro" version but it has no focus tab IINW. Also a longer focus throw? Sounds logic, otherwise it would be difficult to focus at f/2. Then a slow retro lens i suspect. I have lenses doing the same (50/1.4 v2 eg) so I have nothing against that but thanks no thanks i'll stick to the standard version.

Edited by lct

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Advantages of the "standard" version: it's less expensive, it is smaller overall, and the hood is built in and twists out with a cool and reliable mechanism.  It has a focusing tab.

Disadvantages of the standard version: It has a focusing tab (if you don't like them). The focusing ring aside from the tab is mostly smooth, so if you prefer to focus your lenses by gripping the ring rather than using the tab then in my opinion you will not like the ergonomics of the standard version.  The hood, while convenient and lovely, is pretty short, and I'm skeptical it will be as effective at reducing flare as the larger, longer hood of the retro version.

Advantages of the retro version: it looks great.  The focusing ring is larger in diameter, so even though the throw is identical (I think), the larger diameter makes it easer to precisely focus, like driving a car with a tiny steering wheel versus a large steering wheel.