Sensor Cleaning Workarounds

TomLiles

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all,

Hope everyone is getting on OK through the lockdown. 

I use the S-system for work (I'm just a basic freelance photographer), and thus far I've always passed off my bodies to Leica Service here in Ginza, Tokyo to clean the sensors. With the Leica reputation in connection to sensor cover glass, I have not taken any chances. Leica Ginza usually do the job for nothing (quick clean)---anything more involved that'd require a service charge can be written down on my expenses, so I do that and save myself the hassle. All good.

{It's also better for me to put the liability more squarely on them, just in-case any sensor cover glass problems did arise: I do not want to eat the Leica after-service tax infamous in these parts---I'm only half joking.}

However! Leica Ginza has been effectively shut down since 8th April and doesn't look like going back to normal service anytime soon. My sensors really need a clean, so I'll have to take matters into my own hands. Not scared about it, but I want to get this right in the least number of iterations. Please lend me your expertise m(. .)m

I have just tried the Pentax O-ICK1 on my backup S2-P body today. The O-ICK1 (great name) is a kind of dry-clean implement, for anyone unfamiliar. Didn't go well. I had more dust on the sensor after cleaning than before! (I held myself back from doubling down and trying again) So it looks as though that was ¥3,000 down the tubes. No great shakes, but I'm looking for a different and better way now... I'm in Japan so many of the products available to guys in the West, that turn up on Google searches of this topic, don't seem to be available for me here. I checked older threads and saw a Visible Dust swab made for 30mm sensors (dunno if specifically for the 30x45 Leica Pro Format, but anyway...) which I can't get my hands on in Japan. So I'm looking for workarounds.