Hello & Buying Question

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello All,

New member here, based in HK, and I'm relatively new to the Leica experience. I've been researching and looking in to the Q2 now for some time and have decided to pull the pin and purchase one. An M is on the horizon but let's start of with the Q2 first. Baby steps! However, in the Leica boutique here in HK at the weekend I was shocked to learn the local price. HK$47,000. This translates to over US$6,000 or EUR5,600 at current exchange rates. So my question is what benefits are there purchasing directly from the Leica store and paying the local premium here verses buying on-line from either a Leica store or authorised dealer in the US and saving myself US$1,000? That extra US$1,000 goes along way to buying a case, thumb grip, memory card and strap / rope to carry it on. When I asked the sales team in the Leica store why the pricing in HK is so much more than US or Europe they didn't really have an answer. And when I asked them for benefits for buying direct from the Leica store they just said the after purchase service they would provide and that I could stop by anytime to talk with them and discuss anything with regards to the camera.

So what is the consensus here? Is it worth the extra dollar to purchase from the Leica store or should I buy on-line from the US from an authorised Leica dealer and save a thousand bucks? These cameras are an expensive piece of kit and I like to look after my kit in the best condition. So if it is better to purchase directly from the Leica store then I'm more than willing to do so. Just don't want to throw money away either. Thoughts and opinions welcome and I look forward to interacting with you all more once I have a Leica in my hands.

Thanks,

Delirious123