Three settings for everything!

Dennis

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Less is more!

Since I discovered photography more than 20 years ago, my way to see the world, my techniques, my gear, my workflow are obviously changed: evolution 🙂 I was struggling so much at the beginning with numbers, values, reviews, calculations, etc. Until I found out my truth: just shoot shoot shoot, don't think so much, find your own voice, be YOU, do what you love, with purpose.

Now, coming back to the numbers 😅, I think I'm a better photographer since I made a decision that changed my way to work and shoot: in a few word, minimalism on settings. Beside the fact that the camera menu is set once, with no need to change nothing again, I found out that I'm faster, more productive and happier, when I use ONLY a few settings. And I'm talking about shutter speed, ISO and F/stop values. Based on Sunny 16, and my way to shoot exposing for the highlights, I use 95% of the time only a few settings, in a different combination according to the scene I'm shooting. Here mine:

SS: 1/4000 + 1/500 + 1/60

ISO: 200  + 800 + 3200

F/stop:  2.8 + 5.6  + 11

It works well for me and my way to shoot, and I achieve 95% of the times same results with less effort. Now, I'm curious to know if there are certain settings that you ALWAYS use, in general of for specific lenses, and the reason why. Something like ... "When I do street I pout f/11 all day long, no matter what" ... or "I always use 1/30 for the night, and 1/1000 by day that's it" ... or  " My 50 Cron has a tape at f/5.6, because ... " 

Which are YOURS numbers?

Edited by Dennis
  • Like 3

Back in my film days, with a meterless M4-2/P, with Fuji Velvia 50 or Ilford Pan F, in sunlight, I shot virtually one setting: 1/250th at f/6.8 (half-stop between f/5.6 and f/8 ). Worked for 21, 28, 35, 90, 135 lenses.