C 41 home developing

andym91

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all

I've been developing B&W film at home for over 20 years and am very comfortable with the whole process with different films and chemicals.

I've decided to jump into color developing at home as well as it seems fairly simple with the C41 process.

So have a few films exposed (2 Portra 160 on Rolleiflex and 1 Portra 160  on a Leica ) and will develop them in the next day or two.

Question....Any big DO's and DONT'S  before starting out?

I get the temperature sensitivity and am not too concerned there, but for those of you who do this regularly, any tips?

thanks in advance

Andy

There isn't much to it really. Keep dev temperature as close to 39ºC as possible, dev as many rolls as you can at a time to maximise the capacity of your chemicals, and keep the chemicals (especially the developer) as much oxygen free as you can if you want them to last more than 3-4 weeks. Ideally get some heavy gas spray, like Tetenal Protectan, which can extend the shelf life considerably (5-6 months). Also don't mix more than you need (say half a liter) from concentrates if you don't plan on developing much.

Go for it, I was in the same situation, with 50+ years of B&W development under my belt, but never bothered with C-41. I am about to discard the chemicals, they are close to 8-10 months old, and about 6 or 7 rolls developed. It's a piece of the proverbial (P#$s), like others have said. Temp is something to consider but I am usually close to the temp and guarantee it has "changed" while processing, with no real detriment to the results. I try to start about a degree over, and allow it to cool during the development. It's quite a robust system, don't sweat it.